russian spoken here.

back to work.

Posted in Uncategorized by litingyu on January 9, 2009

I’ve missed UCLA.

The city of Los Angeles is beautiful, in a twisted way:
I like all the shiny, metallic surfaces that reflect light and blind the already obnoxious drivers. I’ve missed the mass of cars and the smell of exhaust…the pushy (and perpetually caffeinated) people. It’s a sort of rush that one gets used to (resignedly), and then misses…after being away from it for a while.

Or maybe I’m just crazy and LA has brainwashed me.

A recent conclusion I’ve reached is this:
….after two years of wasting oxygen and a seat in the grand lecture halls of UCLA, I’ve finally learned to appreciate the very expensive education I’ve been offered. That, and spending 8 hours every day on campus is actually quite productive. I suppose living a NOT walking distance from campus will do that to you…thank God (:

On that note, I had better return to my Statistics homework.

Powell Library is indeed magnificent (or my shameless plea: come visit me !!)

xoxo

Tagged with: , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. christine kwon said, on January 11, 2009 at 6:51 PM

    welcome home julia!!

    may i say that you, my dear, are a gifted and beautiful writer.. and gifted collector! of words, moments, colors and song. i tho – rough- ly enjoyed looking at everything on these pages, everrything. đŸ™‚ is there anything i can do to encourage your hypergraphia? hahahaha! in any case, i will come visit again, and i hope i see you in person someday soon.

    p.s. i like eating ice cream on cold days too!

  2. musicisoxygen@xanga.com said, on January 28, 2009 at 4:25 PM

    I take it you’ve moved? (From Xanga to WordPress.) And I guess you were on vacation somewhere, or just home for the holidays. I hope you had fun.

    LA sounds nice. Sometimes I wish I lived in the hustle and bustle of the city, especially since you can walk so many places. But I’d miss the quiet of the suburbs. And the trees.


Leave a Reply

