russian spoken here.

Old enough to read fairy tales again.

Posted in writing by litingyu on June 30, 2009

My Dear Lucy,

I wrote this story for you, but when I began it I had not realized that girls grow quicker than books. As a result you are already too old for fairy tales, and by the time it is printed and bound you will be older still. But some day you will be old enough to start reading fairy tales again. You can then take it down from some upper shelf, dust it, and tell me what you think of it. I shall probably be too deaf to hear, and too old to understand, a word you say, but I shall still be

your affectionate Godfather,

C.S. Lewis

I have always been a little in love with Lucy of the Pevensies.
Every summer I make it a goal to read through the Chronicles of Narnia, and without fail it is always she who has a grip on my heart and makes me wish for wood nymphs and courageous, gentle-hearted Kings and Queens and Aslan and pure, simple goodness.

It was the first time she had spoken, and from the thrill in her voice, Tirian now knew why. She was drinking everything in even more deeply than the others. She had been too happy to speak.”

Perhaps it’s silly, but I do so wish that I could be more like her ! Somehow that seems to be the hardest thing in all of the world: skills and knowledge one can obtain from practice and schooling, but a kind, child-like heart and a gentle spirit can’t be earned. Can it be practiced ? Maybe. Or at least I hope so (:

Anyways, today I was filled with such happiness, for a good friend who has made the decision to confidently pursue his sweetheart. I wanted to give him a biiiiiiiig hug, and to tell him that my heart is filled with gladness; watching him look at her, speechless and wanting nothing more than to hold her and care for her for however long they may be together. Be brave and courageous, and be joyful – the world can always use more love !

😀 good night from Shanghai.

Leave a Reply

